December 2, 2015 – Gravity

Initially, I had titled this image “Life Turned Upside Down”, but after some reflection these past few months, I have decided that a better title is “Gravity”. I created this image in Photoshop with composite work. My friend Andrea modeled for me. Natural window light. The image makes me feel despair, sadness, and confusion. After having battled depression for years, I know that the feeling of being depressed is like gravity has intensified, and that everything pushes down on you, or pulls you in directions that you feel powerless to control. My friend Andrea was not depressed, but she willingly assisted me in portraying my idea and feelings with this conceptual portrait of her.
Thank you Andrea for this gorgeous addition to my portfolio.  
Andrea

Leave a Reply

